Controversial Nepal cricketer Sandeep Lamichhane won’t travel to the USA for the upcoming T20 World Cup after the player’s latest visa demand was turned down by the authorities. Lamichhane, who was recently acquitted of rape charges in his homeland was included the in the T20 World Cup squad. However, the player’s controversial background and legal battles in the court formed the basis for Lamichhane’s visa denial by the US authorities.

Lamichhane denied visa

On Thursday (May 30) US embassy in Nepal denied Lamichhane’s visa despite the government trying its best through different agencies. Chhumbi Lama, central committee member of the Cricket Association of Nepal, said their subsequent bid to push for a US visa had failed.

“There is a slim — or no chance — for him to be involved in the World Cup,” Lama told AFP.

“The Cricket Association of Nepal had lobbied to the US embassy through different Nepal government agencies, but the visa was denied.”

The decision comes as a huge setback for Nepal as they were competing in their maiden Major ICC event. Lamichhane last week admitted that it was “unfortunate” not to receive the US visa as he showcased his disappointment. The 23-year-old in his short cricket career was a sensation and played franchise cricket in the Big Bash League (BBL) and the Pakistan Super League (PSL).

His exploits also saw him earn a place in the Indian Premier League (IPL) where he played for Delhi Capitals. However, the player was charged for raping a young woman in a Kathmandu hotel in 2022.

Recently the charges were dropped against the player as he was not found guilty in the rape case.

While the Nepal government is still trying its best for Lamichhane to get the visa, it is highly unlikely he will travel to the US. As things stand, all teams were only allowed to make changes to their squad until 25 May, after which any alteration requires approval from ICC’s Event Technical Committee.

Nepal squad: Rohit Paudel (c), Aasif Sheikh, Anil Kumar Sah, Kushal Bhurtel, Kushal Malla, Dipendra Singh Airee, Lalit Rajbanshi, Karan KC, Gulshan Jha, Sompal Kami, Pratis GC, Sundeep Jora, Abinash Bohara, Sagar Dhakal, Kamal Singh Airee

Source link